First Weekend

Friday 14th

We go back to Saint-Lô and the kids go to Papa’s for the weekend, leaving me to tackle my other major task.  THE GÎTES.  When I first moved to France some 15 years ago, my then boyfriend helped convert one of the barns into two cottages or gîtes.  Originally we ran out of money and just finished one, but after the birth of my second child I finished converting the other gîte for the au pair.

We have never let them out as holiday lets before, preferring to have long-term tenants.  But after several years of problems, I have decided to go back to our original plan, which was to do holiday lets.  So, we have refurbished both of the gîtes – Poppy & Lily, new doors and windows, new paintwork, new kitchen and new furnishings nearly everywhere, hotel quality beds, new sheets, duvets, towels etc. Not forgetting the new terrace, new garden furniture and BBQ. Now they are looking better than they have ever looked, but this has been amazingly time consuming.

Saturday 15th

Off I go back to the beach with the dogs and as much stuff as I can fit in the car.  I sleep really well there, it is in a really quiet spot and the roller blinds and double glazing make for a very good nights sleep.  Another couple of friends stay for the weekend.  And they are asking how they might get one of these very comfortable English beds!

Sunday 16th

Back home ready for another working week.

Leave a Reply

